The Rosary

How to Say the Rosary

On the Crucifix – First say the Sign of the Cross, and then make your intentions known to our Lord Jesus Christ, and then ask the Blessed Mother Mary to pray for your intentions, and then start the Rosary by saying the Apostle’s Creed.

On the First Bead – Say one Our Father

Next three beads (grouped together) – Say three Hail Mary’s, one for each bead, and then on the chain say a Glory Be.

For Each decade– Each decade consists of a major bead followed by 10 minor beads. The first major bead is just before where the three parts of the chain intersect. On each major bead reflect on one of the day’s mysteries (see Mysteries of the Rosary below), in order, and then say one Our Father on the major bead, and then say a Hail Hail Mary on each minor bead (10 total for each decade) followed by saying a Glory Be and the Fatima prayer on the chain just before the next major bead . Repeat this process for all 5 decades of the Rosary.

At the End – After praying all 5 decades of the Rosary, say the Hail Holy Queen.

Prayers of the Rosary – Click Here

The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Joyful Mysteries: Christ’s birth and youth (Mon, Sat)
The Annunciation (Luke 1:26–38);
The Visitation (Luke 1:39–56);
The Nativity (Luke 2:1–21);
The Presentation (Luke 2:22–38);
The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple (Luke 2:41–52).

The Luminous, also known as the Mysteries of Light: Reminder of Christ’s Miracles and Life (Thurs)
The Baptism in the River Jordan (Matthew 3:13–16);
The Wedding Feast at Cana (John 2:1–11);
The Preaching of the coming of the Kingdom of God (Mark 1:14–15);
The Transfiguration (Matthew 17:1–8);
The Institution of the Holy Eucharist (Matthew 26).

The Sorrowful Mysteries: Jesus’ passion and death: (Tues, Fri)
The Agony of Jesus in the Garden (Matthew 26:36–56);
The Scourging at the Pillar (Matthew 27:26);
The Crowning with Thorns (Matthew 27:27–31);
The Carrying of the Cross (Matthew 27:32);
The Crucifixion (Matthew 27:33–56).

The Glorious Mysteries: Jesus’ Resurrection and heaven (Wed, Sun)
The Resurrection (John 20:1–29);
The Ascension (Luke 24:36–53);
The Descent of the Holy Spirit (Acts 2:1–41);
The Assumption of Mary, the Mother of God, into heaven;
The Coronation of Mary in heaven.